Click the image to enlarge

Shopping – simple rule:
When you buy products low-processed without additions, you avoid eating such substances as glucose-fructose syrup, artificial flavours, carrageenan, stabilizers, thickeners, palm oil, preservatives.

Bláthach Info

Vegetarian rennet is a non-animal product used in the making of vegetarian cheeses to aid in the coagulation process. Non-animal alternatives for rennet are suitable for consumption by vegetarians.
What is rennet? Rennet is the ingredient used to make cheese coagulate quicker. The problem for vegetarians lies in the fact that the primary enzyme (chymosin) found in rennet is most often collected from the lining of the fourth stomach of a newborn calf where the enzyme is produced to help baby cows digest milk. A secondary source of rennet is piglets, which also use the enzyme in the digestion process.
Because of the limited availability of mammalian stomachs for rennet production, cheese makers have sought other ways to coagulate milk since at least Roman times. The many sources of enzymes that can be a substitute for animal rennet range from plants and fungi to microbial sources. Cheeses produced from any of these varieties of rennet are suitable for lactovegetarians. Fermentation-produced chymosin is used more often in industrial cheesemaking in North America and Europe today because it is less expensive than animal rennet.
Many plants have coagulating properties. Homer suggests in the Iliad that the Greeks used an extract of fig juice to coagulate milk. Other examples include several species of Galium, dried caper leaves, nettles, thistles, mallow, and ground ivy. Enzymes from thistle or Cynara are used in some traditional cheese production in the Mediterranean. Phytic acid, derived from unfermented soybeans, or fermentation-produced chymosin (FPC) may also be used.
Vegetable rennets are also suitable for vegetarians.

Source: inter alia Wikipedia and Internet

Add to Favourites