Click the image to enlarge

Shopping – simple rule:
When you buy products low-processed without additions, you avoid eating such substances as glucose-fructose syrup, artificial flavours, carrageenan, stabilizers, thickeners, palm oil, preservatives.

Bláthach Info

E407 – Carrageenans or carrageenins are a family of linear sulphated polysaccharides that are extracted from red edible seaweeds. They are widely used in the food industry, for their gelling, thickening, and stabilizing properties. Their main application is in dairy and meat products, due to their strong binding to food proteins.

Gelatinous extracts of the Chondrus crispus (Irish Moss) seaweed have been used as food additives since approximately the 15th century. Carrageenan is a vegetarian and vegan alternative to gelatin in some applications or may be used to replace gelatin in confectionery.

When used in food products, carrageenan has the EU additive E-number E407 or E407a when present as “processed eucheuma seaweed”. Technically carrageenan is considered a dietary fibre.
Many food manufacturers, even some makers of commercial organic foods, are adding carrageenan to foods like yogurt, ice cream, chocolate and soymilk. It is often used because it thickens and emulsifies products and it is often found even in and “natural” products. It is important to note that carrageenan is not digestible and has no nutritional value.

Source: inter alia Internet

Add to Favourites